Holiday Weekend

Today I’m off to get a few things: breakfast, a grill, and a new knitting book.

I’d love to say I’ll be cooking on the new grill this evening, but we’ll see. It’s incredibly hot today – amazing how just a few degrees warmer can seem to be ‘incredibly hot’.

I did go ahead and make a strawberry sauce for the Buttermilk Pie (recipe 2 days ago). What I used:

About 15 whole Strawberries
1/2 cup Water
1/8 cup Sugar

Placed it all in a saucepan and let it simmer until the strawberries just started to break apart. Then I used my potato masher (gotta love that thing! It’s good for so much more than mashing potatoes.), and mashed up the strawberries just a bit until the fruit mixture was a consistency I was happy with. For me, that was some large strawberry pieces with the rest mashed enough to, combined with the sugar, create a sauce about the consistency of half and half. We ate it warm, spooned over the chilled pie. Yum! Perfect mix of sweet, fresh fruit and the tartness of the buttermilk.

Leave a Reply

