Laundry List

1. I have three pears which must be eaten or used today. Two are Abate Fetel and one, a Packham. So now the great debate. Fresh, or perhaps a galette? Or maybe a pear pastry? The trouble is that Baking Bites posted a recipe for Chai Snickerdoodles yesterday, and I’d love to try them. We love snickerdoodles!

2. And just because a portion of my life will now be taken up by this, yours should be also: Winter of Our Discontent: The Impeachment and Trial of John F. Kennedy by Harry Turtledove and Bryce Zabel.

3. I still have yet to begin a book given to me last Monday by the lady who works the desk at my local P.O. The book: Murder Suicide by Keith Ablow. I guess that’s what I’ll be doing next. I don’t think I’d feel so guilty -after all, I’ve borrowed books from friends before- however I’m a speed reader, and I barely know the lender.

4. Today I’m wearing BPAL‘s Queen of Sheba. From their site: A woman of exquisite, unearthly beauty, profound intelligence, wit, and exceeding wealth, the Queen of Sheba – called Bilquis by the Muslims and Makeda by the ancient Abyssinians – traveled by caravan to Solomon’s realm seeking proof of the king’s reputed wisdom. Bearing gifts of exotic spices, a veritable mountain of gold, hearty camels and precious stones, she presented herself to the king and, bearing her heart to him, asked him a series of challenging questions, and was ultimately convinced of the truth of his wisdom, knowledge and judiciousness. In the end, the great king and queen conquered each other’s hearts and fell breathlessly in love: the perfect marriage of equals. Her scent is a bounty of golden honeyed almonds and a whisper of African and Middle Eastern spices.

Leave a Reply

