Crumpets and Tea (Cake)

Sunday was spent in a short rash of baking. I do realize today is Tuesday, but this is how life happens, yes? Our Sundays suddenly becoming Tuesdays? Anyway, as I was saying, I spent time baking on Sunday.

First it was the crumpets, which aren’t really baked, of course, but somehow they do seem like a baked good. I tried the crumpet recipe from A Bread a Day. Because I wouldn’t have time to let the batter rise Sunday morning, and because I’m inherently lazy, I made the batter Saturday evening, allowing it to rise and then whisking it into the fridge without adding the baking soda.

Sunday morning the chilled batter had continued to rise and was light and fluffy. In went the baking soda, leaving the batter with a nice poofiness. The four english muffin rings, which I stumbled upon in a thrift shop sometime ago, were filled about halfway, and after a short while out came the lovelies crumpets! Every once in a while, I am truly astounded by the fact that simple ingredients can yield such a productive and scrummy result. These two are actually Monday’s breakfast. All the rest of the batch were quickly gobbled up in a flurry of sighs and jam.

Sunday afternoon was for the Chardonnay Cake with an Almond Sugar Crust from Always Order Dessert. Rather than using Chardonnay, my wine of choice was the end of a bottle of Prosecco frizzante that was languishing. And although not my usual choice, because the kitchen counter was already home to plums, nectarines and bananas, rather than weighting it down with even more fruit, I used what was on hand, a healthy amount of orange extract, to take the place of the orange zest and orange flower water. It’s definitely a hit, although the zest would have rounded out the taste a bit, and we’ve been eating it with homemade lime curd. Yum!

3 responses to “Crumpets and Tea (Cake)

  1. These crumpets look delicious! I’ve never made crumpets before, but I think I’m going to give them a try sometime. I like simple. Thanks for sharing this on YeastSpotting!

  2. Oops! I mean thanks for sharing in the BYOB roundup. Sorry! It’s Monday!

Leave a Reply

