Are you still looking for that recipe for Yeasted Banana Bread?

Less than two weeks ago, I would have looked a little bemused if you’d asked that same question. Really! Who isn’t looking for that recipe? Oh, we all love Banana Bread. Or at least those who like bananas do. But wouldn’t it be nice to be able to do something, well. . . more with our banana bread?

Just think! PB & J sandwiches. Fluffer Nutters. Cream Cheese and Jam (I’m a big proponent of jam). Suite101.com has a whole list of sandwiches using cream cheese. Some of which would be astounding on that kind of bread. Maybe we could make bread pudding? And yes, we’ll most definitely want french toast made with this bread. Think about any of these made with a light fluffy, less sweet banana bread. Yeasted Banana Bread!

I’m not going to look for a Yeasted Banana Bread recipe again. Because really, after searching for 3 weeks, 5.68 days, 7 seconds and not really finding a recipe that looked quite like what I wanted, the most sensible thing seemed to be to take the few unearthed, along with several other bread recipes that I’m currently in love with, and set about creating my own.

I want something fairly similar to a sandwich bread. No raisins or spices please. No nuts. No filled loaves, although those are nice. No; what I want is something I can use for something sweet and maybe, just maybe, a savory sandwich also.

I started with the bananas, of course!

Then a few more things that add softness and flavor to an enriched bread:

Please ignore my honey that’s crystallizing. Instead of worrying about that, I just nuked (AKA microwaved) and used it. Next I added a few more things, including some flour, and formed it into a ball to rise.

After doubling, degassing and rising again in its loaf tin, the bread went in the oven. What came out was a beautiful loaf! This time I got a bit busy, and it overproofed a wee bit. I’m sure you’ll keep a good eye on yours though!

The finished product:

Now, I shall pass you the recipe. Use it wisely. Or not. But try it! It’s always good to have options in our repertoires.  Besides, this bread makes outstanding french toast.

Those who haven’t made bread before or want to try a new method of shaping the dough may find the following links helpful:

Windowpane test from Wild Yeast

Shaping Whole Wheat Bread Loaves (tuck method) from GNOWFGLINS

How to Shape Loaves (jellyroll method) from Tipnut

How to Shape Dough into Sandwich Loaves (envelope method) from A Year in Bread


Yeasted Banana Bread with Vanilla
(printer friendly link)

makes one large (5×9) loaf

Ingredients:
3 ripe to overripe medium bananas (about 1 cup), well mashed
1/2 cup buttermilk at room temp. (use milk if you prefer less tang)
1/4 cup warm water
1 1/2 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon butter, melted
1 1/2 teaspoons instant yeast
1 1/2 cups spelt flour
2 – 2 1/2 cups bread flour
1 1/2 teaspoons salt

Directions:
To a mixing bowl add bananas, buttermilk, water, honey, vanilla, butter and yeast. Stir well to combine.

Sift spelt flour, 2 cups bread flour, and salt together, then add to mixing bowl containing wet ingredients. Stir, or mix in mixer with dough hook, until it forms a shaggy dough.

Remove dough to floured surface and knead for 8-10 minutes (6-8 minutes in mixer with dough hook), adding more flour as necessary to achieve a tacky dough that will pass the windowpane test. Because this dough contains bananas, it will remain slightly sticky. A small amount of vegetable oil on the hands can help prevent it from sticking.

Form dough into a ball and place in oiled bowl. Lightly spray surface of dough with a neutral oil, then cover bowl with plastic wrap. Let rise at room temperature for 1 1/2 – 2 hours or until doubled.

Remove dough from bowl and knead for 2-3 minutes to degass. Shape and place in well-oiled loaf tin.

Let rise 60-90 minutes or until loaf rises above the lip of the pan. Preheat oven to 350F.

Bake in preheated oven for about 30 minutes, rotating pan after 15 minutes. Bread is done when inside loaf temperature registers 190F, bread is lightly browned or sounds hollow when tapped.

Powered by ScribeFire.

5 responses to “Are you still looking for that recipe for Yeasted Banana Bread?

  1. I stopped by to say thanks and ended spending some real time browsing your blog. I really like what you are doing here and have become a subscriber. As to yeasted banana bread…why not? Time is my only enemy 🙂 Have a great day.

    • Thank you Mary. I’m really enjoying your blog, and appreciate you stopping by and subscribing to mine. What you say about time, isn’t that the truth! Oddly enough, I’m finding that bread is actually more doable for me, because I only have to fiddle with it every few hours for a few minutes. How strange.

  2. Oh my! I’m a total bread geek and I will most definitely be trying this. I actually have some spelt flour on hand! Great job, it looks delicious.

    • It is! Last time we had it as french toast, and I told my husband we could do that again. But I’m afraid this loaf isn’t going to be around that long.

  3. Pingback: Whoops! Sorry ma’am. We’ll get on that right away. (recipe fix) «

Leave a Reply

