There’s More Than One Way to Roast a Cauliflower

Only a week ago I was congratulating myself for having found a(nother) way we like cauliflower. Oh, I didn’t just find it; we’ve been eating roasted cauliflower for a while now. I was just feeling satisfied because I’d recently picked up two heads at the grocer. Two being the requisite number, because as anyone who’s tried roasted cauliflower knows, you can’t just buy one head at a time when making plans to roast one.

Last week however, our crisper drawer had two cauliflowers sitting in it, and I was happy to be making something we all loved for dinner. Then along came this recipe for Mediterranean Chicken Kebabs from Hooked: on heat. While the blog hasn’t been updated since the end of 2008, it is definitely a place to find tasty Indian recipes.

Because the kebab recipe was really calling me, I wanted to make something with Indian flavors for our vegetable side. (It’s at this point I feel compelled to add that the kebabs, which I pan fried due to the pouring rain, are excellent, and I’ll be making them again.) Fortunately I there was something that married that lovely toasty cauliflower taste to the flavors I wanted!

After mixing the spices with the oil, I was convinced the dish would be a perfect addition to dinner. Just look at how pretty the florets look when tossed with the mixture!

We weren’t disappointed with the result. In fact, the only thing that kept the three of us from finishing the entire head was dessert. I mention this here to also say that the leftover cauliflower was just as tasty, although not as delightfully crispy, the second day.

Roasted Curried Cauliflower (printer friendly recipe)
adapted from Martha Stewart

 
Ingredients:
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon mustard seeds
1 teaspoon cumin seeds
1 teaspoon curry powder
1/4 teaspoon coriander seed
pinch of kala jeera
1 teaspoon coarse salt
1 large head cauliflower (about 2 pounds), cut into medium-sized florets
 
 
Directions
Preheat oven to 375F.
 
In a large bowl mix oil and spices. When mixed, toss well with cauliflower florets.
 
Spread cauliflower on greased baking sheet. Roast until florets have browned on the bottom and are fork-tender, about 25 minutes. Serve immediately.

Powered by ScribeFire.

2 responses to “There’s More Than One Way to Roast a Cauliflower

  1. This looks easy and fast. I’ll give it a try this week

Leave a Reply

