Reinhart v. Mom (Battle Cinnamon Roll, part I)

When it came time to make the Cinnamon Rolls from Reinhart’s book, The Bread Baker’s Apprentice, I was pretty excited. I mean, who wouldn’t be? After all, thanks in part to Nicole of Pinch My Salt, who organized this little bake-a-long shindig, I was making one of my favorite breakfasts desserts in the whole world! I love cinnamon rolls. And I’d actually just baked my usual recipe only about 2 weeks ago.

Having just had my mom’s Cinnamon Rolls, and seeing how other bloggers were really happy with the BBA recipe, I naturally had to do something special. Like what? Well, I had to make 2 recipes, of course! The one from the BBA Challenge and the one from mom. Actually to be clear, I have two cinnamon recipes from my mom, but the one I chose to make is my favorite. The reason why will become clear in a little while, I’m sure. And no, you can never have too many cinnamon rolls in the house. Really! What a question!

First, the BBA Cinnamon Buns. Oops, I’d better be frank here. I got so focused on the cinnamon, sweet dough and yummy end product, that I totally forgot to take any photos of the process of making the dough.

So, let’s pretend I’m mixing all the flour, yeast, water, etc., which I obviously must have done, because here’s the photo of the gorgeous dough which resulted.

I feel the need to be honest about something.

I didn’t use any lemon in the dough.

I realize some people like all their sweet dough with lemon or orange flavor, but I just can’t get into it. It always reminds me of boxed pastry, like Entenmenn’s or something. Me? In some doughs yes, but not in every sweet roll dough. Definitely not in Cinnamon Rolls. Yeah, I’m opinionated like that.

But, I did use buttermilk. More on that tomorrow.

Next, the dough is sprinkled with the cinnamon sugar mixture.

Then rolled into the traditional log and cut.

Aren’t those pretty rolls?

See this is how distracted I was while baking. You get no more shots after this until the cinnamon rolls are finished. Well, except for this one, when they’d already been in the oven for a few minutes. Whoops!

Here they are fresh out of the oven. Beautiful color and heavenly aroma. They’d risen nicely and smelled just perfect.

How about a closeup?

The verdict? These are good. Really, really good. Like ‘from the corner bakery’ good. The roll was soft, nicely textured and they stayed soft for a few days. Yum!

Tomorrow? Mom’s Cinnamon Rolls.

Powered by ScribeFire.

2 responses to “Reinhart v. Mom (Battle Cinnamon Roll, part I)

  1. wow these look yummy, I have never tried making cinnamon rolls but I might just give it a go!

Leave a Reply

